Book Club Thursday: In Case You Missed It!



Welcome back to Book Club Thursday!

Today we are doing...


I think you are going to like this post. You know how it is when you see a blog post that you like and want to tell everyone about it? Well that is kinda what we are doing here. I will give you a small portion of the post that I really liked from Born to Read Books so you won't have missed it.

I will be honest with you the reason I picked this post is because this is author I've meant to try and haven't yet. I know Cyndi at Born to Read Books loves her.

Someday...

Lost and Found Sisters
Wildstone #1
Jill Shalvis
June 20, 2017
William Morrow Paperbacks




From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women's fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.
They say life can change in an instant…

After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.'s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she's looking for a missing piece she can't find?

The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.

On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn't quite fit in right away, she can't help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.

As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there's another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn't a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she's searched so long for.

If you've read Jill Shalvis before then you are going to know what I about to say (below) and if you haven't you are in for a treat and this is fine (well more than fine actually) place to start.
Although more Women's Fiction (WF) in style than anything, there is still a pretty strong romantic element here. Also, as a reader you actually see inside/spend time with the "hero" Mick (love him!), something that doesn't always happen in WF.
Ms. Shalvis's humor and strong well written characters are present here, and I hope in future books set in the charming town of Wildstone she continues in the same vein as lost and found sisters.
There's some serious/deeper subject matter here, very well written and handled with a smart touch.
The women steal the show in this novel(specifically Quinn and Tilly and in some lighter regard Lena) but again, Mick also is strongly represented.
I enjoyed seeing the growth of the relationship between Quinn and Tilly.
The book tops out around 370 pages but it didn't feel like it and I actually wanted more.



Here's the link to the full post. Make sure to check it out and fingers crossed one day I will give this series a try. 

Make sure to go to Cyndi's blog and see which post of mine she doesn't want you to miss. 

Is there a In Case You Missed It! that you'd like us to know about? Post the links in the comment section for us all to check it out! Thanks for visiting and happy reading! ♡


At this time Born to Read Books is without a computer and won't be posting. We are hoping she'll be back on line soon!
May 17th " Cover Talk"

Comments