Guest Post & Giveaway: Once Pure by Cecy Robson

Once Pure
Shattered Past # 3
By: Cecy Robson
Releasing May 19, 2015
Loveswept

Blurb

She bears the scars of the past. He blames himself for things he can’t control. Their defenses are up, but in Cecy Robson’s latest Shattered Past novel—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn—true love lands a knockout punch.

Sofia Tres Santos remembers a time before her life went sour, before her innocence was ripped away, before she began punishing herself with risky behaviors and unworthy men. Now, at twenty, she just hopes she’s ready to rebuild some of what she lost. One way or another, it always comes back to her childhood friend and longtime crush, Killian O’Brien.

As strong as Killian is, Sofia has always been his one weakness. He knows Sofia has suffered and wants to ensure she’s never hurt again—not like before, and definitely not under his watch. When Sofia agrees to work at his mixed martial arts gym, Killian seizes the opportunity to help and protect the sweet girl he’s always cared for. And yet, as he trains Sofia to defend herself using his hard-hitting MMA techniques, he’s drawn to the vulnerable beauty in ways he never expected.

As Sofia grows stronger, she also grows brave enough to open herself up to love. And along the way, she challenges everything Killian believes to be true, showing him that no matter how much he dominates in the ring, the real battle is fought in the heart.


Buy Links
Amazon | B & N iTunes | Kobo | Publisher



Romancing the Readers would like to thank Cecy Robson for stopping by and visiting with us. I hope you'll show her some love! 


Character Torture aka Making Readers Feel

Thank you so much for inviting me to your blog, and for featuring Once Pure, my heart-warming story about first loves.

I have to say, I’ve developed quite a reputation for torturing my characters. I’ve received fan mail from readers telling me how much they’ve cried and agonized along with my characters―not to mention social media shout-outs like:

“Just read A Cursed Embrace.” *sniffles* “What the hell did I ever do to you?”

“I was THAT girl sitting at the end of the bus, reading and crying thanks to you.”

“I pick up all Cecy Robson’s books armed with tissues, wine, and chocolate.”

And my personal favorite:

“… but don’t expect and easy path for them with flowers, singing birds and unicorns… ok… with Cecy’s writing you could expect unicorns… but vicious, carnivorous unicorns.”

Believe it or not, I suffer right along with my readers―and my characters. There have been plenty of moments where my beloved husband has found me crying over my keyboard, and yes, reaching for the tissues and chocolates.

When I began writing, I never expected to feel as much as I have. Mainly because I never expected to embrace each character, and in many ways become them.

I attended a university with a very strong theatre department, and knew many actors. I’d see my happy-go-lucky friends turn into completely different people on stage. I remember asking my friend, Stephanie, following a production of All of My Sons, “How do you do it? How do you cry on stage so effortlessly? Do you think sad thoughts to prep you for the more emotional scenes?”

Her answer was simple. “Cecy, I’m so caught up in the moment, and what my character is experiencing, the tears come naturally because I’m now one with the character.”

I nodded politely, but in truth, I didn’t understand what she meant―until I began writing. My characters, in a way, are real people to me. Once I connect with their physical appearance, their likes, dislikes, their moods, and personalities, they take on a shape of their own. I connect with them as if they truly exist and develop their dialogue in a way that stays true to the characters depending on the scene.

I first introduced Sofia and Killian in Once Perfect, and revisited them briefly when they made an appearance in Once Loved. So when I began writing Once Pure, I had an idea what kind of people they were, but I never expected to love them as much as I do.
Once Pure is one of those stories in which the characters touched me and pulled at my heart-strings. I felt Sofia and Killian’s pain, their love, and ultimately their triumphs. While it hurt me to hurt them, I had to allow them to feel emotions that people in those circumstances would. Otherwise, it wouldn’t have been fair to them or the readers. Readers want to forge a bond and invest in the characters. In order to do so, those characters need to feel real.

So do I enjoy torturing my characters? In truth, sometimes it’s really difficult. But when I receive feedback from my readers, telling me they felt each emotion along with my characters, I know I’ve done my job.

I hope you enjoy Once Pure. Moreover, I hope you’ll feel the extent of Sofia and Killian’s love.




Author Info
Cecy Robson is the New Adult author of Once Perfect, Once Loved, and Once Pure and the award-winning author of the Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A self-proclaimed professional napper, Cecy counts among her talents a jaw-dropping knowledge of useless trivia, the ability to make her hair big, and a knack for breaking into song despite her family’s vehement protests. A full-time writer, registered nurse, wife, and mother living in the Great Northwest, Cecy enjoys spending time with her family and silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.


Author Links
Website Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


Giveaway  Time!  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. I have some books in her other series. I enjoyed the one I read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Karen. I hope you enjoy my other novels just as much!

      Delete
    2. Thank you, Karen. I hope you enjoy my other novels just as much!

      Delete
  2. Thank you for the feature, Ann! I appreciate you taking the time to host me and join my tour!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You are so welcome. I'm always willing to help. I enjoy doing so.

      Delete
  3. Thank you for hosting Cecy and ONCE PURE!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have to admit that i really enjoyed the guest post...I don't usually cry over books but when it's really good and the characters are well developed and draw you in - you can't help feeling as if you are a part of the story - this sounds like a series I want to read and will definitely check out! Thanks for the giveaway

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm a cryer. Not for every book, just the ones that touch me.

      Delete

Post a Comment